The Universe’s velocity waits for no one.

The doors open, a woman in an orange dress enters the streetcar. The air is musty and mute, the tracks are laid against the asphalt. I question everything, my words exhale from my lungs, my breath singes my left collar. The train shifts, a man with a newspaper in his hands is falling asleep: Art stands still on its pages as dancers are caught by a photographer’s lens.

I recall an hour ago, when I was certain: For a few seconds I stood still, on a planet too old to care, too fast to stop… Earth waits for no one. Not even a streetcar running four minutes behind schedule.

There is a bus that I am late for; It will leave if I am not there.

About Mauro Metallo

A Writer and Photographer equally at home in Italy and in Canada.

One response to “The Universe’s velocity waits for no one.”

  1. 47whitebuffalo says :

    Prose poems galore as captions–sweeet!

Leave a Reply

