The old man in pink

When I am an old man I will wear pink, with a red hat which doesn’t go and doesn’t suit me. And I will spend my pension on Whiskey and say we’ve no money for butter. I will sit down on the pavement when I’m tired, go out in my slippers in the rain, pick flowers in other people’s gardens and learn how to spit.

But for now I must have clothes that match, pay my rent, not swear on the street and set a good example for the children. I must have friends to dinner and read the papers.

I ought, however, to practice a little, so people who know me won’t be too shocked and surprised when suddenly I am old and start to wear pink.

About Mauro Metallo

A Writer and Photographer equally at home in Italy and in Canada.

One response to “The old man in pink”

  1. davecandoit says :

    This is outstanding, Mauro — both the story and the photo. The story really has a Charles Bukowski feel to it. Excellent work, my friend.

Leave a Reply

