Becoming

The first time I met Jessica was at a party: She came with a friend of a friend and didn’t speak much, just sat on a chair…
I haven’t seen her again for almost a year and I didn’t even know she performed in a night club, until her boyfriend told me she wanted some pictures of herself getting ready for the show.
Reluctantly, in shyness, I agreed to follow him to her house.
“Hel-lo…” I stuttered.
“This is your home” she said softly; “Feel free…”
So I poured myself a drink and begun to get familiar with my surroundings.  Shortly after I was in her changing room: She was doing her make-up and seemed quite comfortable with me being there. Therefore, shy no more, I started looking at her through the viewfinder…
The results of the transformation were astonishing, and the pleasure of being introduced to this wonderful person brought on the honour of being her photographer for that evening, allowing me to witness her becoming.
Thank you, Jessica…
About Mauro Metallo

A Writer and Photographer equally at home in Italy and in Canada.

3 responses to “Becoming”

  1. 47whitebuffalo says :

    O Mauro! Wonderful photo and delightful ‘story’. Thank you.

  2. davecandoit says :

    Hey Mauro,

    Really amazing shot. Timeless and totally great in black & white. I love the new blog look, too. Nicely done, my friend.

    Dave

  3. David Williamson says :

    Interesting series. It’s great to finally get the story behind these shots. Bottom left is my fav.

    BTW. I like the new layout :0)

Leave a Reply

